Skincare Regimen – Mixed Skin

June 3, 2011 at 5:04 pm 1 comment

A common skincare problem is mixed skin. Usually the T-zone (forehead, nose and chin) is oilier and the cheeks are drier, but that is not always the case. Therese posted a question on our facebook page the other day:

I have an oily skin on and around my nose and I get frequent breakouts there. However my forehead and cheeks are dry and rough. If I treat one issue, irritate the other. What do you recommend for my multiple personality skin? 🙂

The good news is that you don’t have to use to separate sets of products to take care of your skin. My suggestion is that you use mild products all over your face, and then target the nose area with products that will help unclog your pores and prevent breakouts.

For cleansing I would suggest either the Cleansing Milk with Geranium, a very mild creamy cleanser, or Deep Cleansing Oil with Mandarin & Cedar. Both are good for all skin types, and they will not dry out your forehead and cheeks. The Deep Cleansing Oil rinses off clean, so you are not left with an oily residue that could aggravate breakouts on your nose. Try both and see which one you prefer, or alternate to keep it interesting 🙂 Follow up with the Raspberry Exfoliating Toner, but only on and around your nose. It *could* be beneficial for your cheeks and forehead too, since it would remove dead skin cells and make it easier for the moisturizer to penetrate, but it could also be a bit too harsh. You can try it if you want to, but listen to your skin. It will tell you if it’s too much.

I always recommend the Golden Olive Serum, but it’s because it’s so good for ALL skin types! It will deeply hydrate, but it will also balance your skin so oily skin becomes less oily and dry skin becomes less dry. It will give your skin strength to protect itself from the elements and its anti-bacterial properties helps prevent breakouts. I got an email regarding the Golden Olive Serum the other day from Melissa, and she said:

With summer coming and your current focus on skincare I think the Golden Olive Oil needs to receive some props. I have been using the small size bottle since this time last year and I’m in love with it. I wandered into the shop last June in search of a moisturizer that would be light, airy, and non-greasy for the summer.  One of the wonderful staff pointed out the Golden Olive Oil and said that it was by far the best product for summer moisture without the creamy feel of some of the other products. At first, I was pretty skeptical about this oil going on my face. I have combination skin and so I was fearful that the oil would make the oily parts more noticeable. Alas, I am still using this product today and no oily leftovers. It’s great under a light mineral foundation which TVAL Skincare also makes.  I want to tell you that Golden Olive Oil goes with me whenever I travel and I find it’s skincare benefits are amazing.  It keeps my pores protected, my skin soft, and my complexion clear. I especially like that the Golden Olive Oil evens out my skin tone. Like all good things, it cures what ails ya!

So Golden Olive for you Therese, and then follow up with Rich & Dreamy on your cheeks and forehead.

A couple of times a week you can use Sweet Cheeks Face Mask or Cucumber Chamomille Face Mask on your nose, to absorb excess oil and clear out your pores.

To summarize, for you I recommend:

Same routine in morning and night
Cleansing Milk w. Geranium
or Deep Cleansing Oil. Massage in and rinse of with a soft wash cloth.
Raspberry Exfoliating Toner on and around your nose.
A couple of drops of Golden Olive Serum spread evenly over skin
Rich & Dreamy on cheeks and forehead
Lip Balm

Weekly treats
Sweet Cheeks or Cucumber Chamomille Face Mask on and around nose twice a week.

 

Therese, please let me know if you have any other questions! We’d love to hear how you are doing with it! And as a thank you for sending in your question, and a help to get the products you need, I will send you a message with a code you can use to get 15% off any skincare purchases during the month of June!

Entry filed under: Skincare.

Skincare Regimen – Hitting the 40s Skincare Month – Laying a good foundation

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mel  |  June 3, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Great article. Keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,878 other followers

Recent Posts

Tweets

  • @Seriiiously Oh, I see! I saw the website and thought anyone could join (it was for my daughter actually, who LOVES you!). Thanks anyway :) 1 year ago
  • @Seriiiously Is it still possible to play on your server Zoodesia? Thought I should ask before I download a gazillion mods :) 1 year ago
  • @kchanelle Oh yes, thanks for the reminder!! We moved our web shop so we need to update the links :) 1 year ago
  • @kchanelle That's so strange! Our apologies, and yes please call or email your order and we will help you :) 579-7627 shop@tvalskincare.com 2 years ago
  • @Yogaloveyyz oh nooo! Well, a wash with reg shampoo will take care of that! :) Feel better soon! xo 3 years ago

