Join us in the month of Kicking up our Skincare!

June 1, 2011 at 1:06 pm 3 comments

I thought it would be fun to have a full month of tips, tricks, contests, challenges and other fun things about facial skincare! That subject is what we get most questions about, so my idea was to share everything we have learned so far and collect it all in one spot (here)  for everyone to go back to for future reference!

I asked our Facebook fans to post any questions they may have regarding skincare, and the ones that require longer answers I will answer here on the blog. The shorter questions will be answered on Facebook, so make sure you pop in every now and then and read on our wall for some tips that may be useful for you too!

The first question we got was from Shelley. She wrote: I am turning the big 50 this year so needless to say my face is starting to show it’s age. Creases around my mouth and fine lines around my eyes. Yet I still suffer from blackheads and bumps along my jaw line,  and lots of oil on my forehead that I usually have to mop off a couple of times a day. What do you recommend for a skin regime.

My suggestion would be to use very gentle cleansing, to not dry out your skin. This is important for two reasons: the lines around your eyes and mouth can get more visible if your skin is dry, and drying out your skin also increases oil production (your skin tries to compensate) and that could be why your forehead gets oily. Gentle but thorough cleansing keep your skin clean, but it doesn’t disrupt the delicate balance of dry vs. oily. The products I would recommend are Cleansing Milk with Geranium, a creamy and super mild cleanser, and Raspberry Exfoliating Toner. The toner will help remove dead skin cells and that helps both the problem with blackheads and aging skin. Cell turnover slows down when we get older and the dead cells on the surface of our skin stays around for longer, which gives the skin a slightly dull and dry appearance. Exfoliation will speed up the removal of dead skin cells and the new plumper skin cells comes up to the surface instead.

For the problem with blackheads around the jaw line I would recommend, in addition to the Raspberry Exfoliating Toner, to use Sweet Cheeks Face Mask once or twice a week. The clay and salicylic acid will draw out impurities and help prevent future bumps. Another thing I thought of when you mentioned the jaw line was: Are you often resting your chin on your hand? Or perhaps leaning your jaw against the receiver when you’re on the phone? Both these things can aggrevate breakouts believe it or not! Try to be conscious of what you are doing throughout a regular day, and see if keeping this in mind helps!

For the aging part of your skincare problems I would suggest: Golden Olive Serum. It is a fantastic product that consists of only three ingredients, but it is the potency of these ingredients that make it so good! Most often less is more! 🙂

Here is how we describe Golden Olive Serum on our website: Naturally extracted from Olive Oil, Squalane enhances the skins ability to naturally regenerate as it helps to nourish, hydrate and oxygenate your skin. It is also a natural anti-bacterial agent and its skin hydrating properties make it effective in softening skin and helping to minimize fine lines and wrinkles. Sea buckthorn is a natural high source of Vitamins A, C & E, carotenes, flavonoids, essential fatty acids and phytosterols, which are all important for the maintenance of healthy skin. It is also a rich source of Vitamins B1, B2, K and P as well as in more that two dozen microelements. Geranium essential oil acts balancing on both skin and mind.

Another product that would work well for you would be Buddha Eye Cream, as it will help soften the lines around your eyes and keep that delicate area well moisturized.

So to summarize, and give you a full skincare program to follow. This is what I suggest:

Morning routine:
Raspeberry Exfoliating Toner on a cotton pad, swipe of skin (pay particular attention to forehead and jaw line)
A couple of drops of Golden Olive Serum
Rich & Dream OR Light & Airy face cream (depending on season and how your skin feels. They are basically the same cream, but R&D are thicker)
Buddha Eye Cream around the eyes
Lip Balm

Night routine:
Cleansing Milk w. Geranium. Massage in and rinse of with a soft wash cloth.
Raspberry Exfoliating Toner
A couple of drops of Golden Olive Serum
R&D or L&A
Buddha Eye Cream
Lip Balm

Weekly Treats:
Sweet Cheeks Face Mask (once or twice a week)
Resurface (once a week, or once every other week. Listen to your skin)

Please let me know if you have any other questions! We’d love to hear how you are doing with it! And as a thank you for sending in your question, and a help to get the products you need, I will send you a message with a code you can use to get 15% off any skincare purchases during the month of June!

Entry filed under: Skincare.

Makeup Monday – For blue eyes Skincare Regimen – Hitting the 40s

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marsha Robinson  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    These are very helpful hints for us “over 50’s”. I have been using both the geranium skin cleanser and the golden olive serum for while & love what they do for my face. Next order I will get Buddha eye cream for sure.

    Reply
  • 2. Shelley  |  September 15, 2011 at 3:02 am

    Hi there, i wanted to give the new regime a few months before I replied You were right about the phone thing and touching my face a lot. I have stopped doing that and follow the regime to the letter. My forehead is no longer oily and the bumps are gone from my jaw line. I have since ordered all of your recommended products and even had to replace some already. The olive oil is amazing. Who would have thought that putting oil on your face would actually stop more oil from producing on my face. I can not thank you enough for your wonderful suggestions and products.
    Tval has has become my new best friend.

    Reply
    • 3. Anna  |  November 20, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      That is fantastic Shelley! I am SO happy to hear that :))

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,878 other followers

Recent Posts

Tweets

  • @Seriiiously Oh, I see! I saw the website and thought anyone could join (it was for my daughter actually, who LOVES you!). Thanks anyway :) 1 year ago
  • @Seriiiously Is it still possible to play on your server Zoodesia? Thought I should ask before I download a gazillion mods :) 1 year ago
  • @kchanelle Oh yes, thanks for the reminder!! We moved our web shop so we need to update the links :) 1 year ago
  • @kchanelle That's so strange! Our apologies, and yes please call or email your order and we will help you :) 579-7627 shop@tvalskincare.com 1 year ago
  • @Yogaloveyyz oh nooo! Well, a wash with reg shampoo will take care of that! :) Feel better soon! xo 3 years ago

