Makeup Monday – For brown eyes

February 14, 2011 at 6:45 pm 4 comments

Last week Marsha asked me to do a look for brown eyes. So I asked our very own Bobby (who has worked as a makeup artist for over 17 years) to suggest some colours. He wrote back with a fantastic step-by-step. So here it is, and the pictures of  how it turned out when I followed his instructions (I’m sure you can do it better! 🙂 Oh, and please excuse the first blurry pic… the camera focused on my most prominent feature… my nose!!)

Apply Mummer to the crease and the entire outer half of the eyelid (Use a soft tapered brush for the crease and a flat or round brush for the outer lid).

Next, apply Skylarkin’ to the inner eyelid (any small brush, flat or round, not too soft). I love blues and greys against brown eyes, especially if the eyes are coppery brown. Also, throw a tiny dab of skylarkin’ right into the inner corner of the eye, top and bottom.

Then, highlight the brow bone with a bit of nish, and overlap the mummer in the crease with nish, so the two colors blend together where they meet. I usually fade out the crease color towards the brow bone, and I intentionally go a little too high with my crease color, because I know I will soften it later when I overlap with the brow highlight. It just helps to achieve a really gradual fade from one color to the next.

Finally, apply a very dark brown (like Buck) as eyeliner, but make the line as thin as possible, while trying to also make the line very intense and sharp. Obviously a very fine angled brush is best, because you can ‘dab and wiggle’ the brush and get the eyeliner right between the lashes! The effect is that the lashes appear very thick and full at the base but it doesn’t really look like eyeliner. Now, a nice firm pointy eyeliner brush will also do (for wet application only!), but I prefer the angled brush. It’s a preference thing really. Line the top and bottom of the eye, but don’t go all the way in to the inner corner, and slightly extend the line on the outer corner.

Finish with black mascara and voila, the eyes are done! For lips and cheeks, I would keep everything pretty soft, to maintain the focus on the eyes. I think the overall color palette is slightly cool toned because of the icy blue skylarkin’ so I would say soft pinks or plums or pale neutrals on the lips, and avoid orangey or coral or peachy colors.

Get all the colours you need for this look –> here <–

Mummer

Skylarkin’

Nish

Buck


Entry filed under: Anna's ramblings, Bobby, Makeup.

Deep Cleansing Oil Gold and Pink

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marsha Robinson  |  February 14, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Thanks, Anna. I’ll add those colours to my wish list!
    Really appreciate the instructions too.

    Reply
    • 2. Anna  |  February 15, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      Thanks for the request Marsha! It was fun! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Diane  |  February 15, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Hi anna,
    beautiful makeup!
    I use the N1 foundation everyday mixed with my face cream.
    I was wondering if you would have anything in your mineral makeup collection that would help with dark undereye circles.
    I have used undereye concealers from the drugstore but they often seem to attract attention to this unsightly area instead of hiding it!

    Would you have any tips on how to hide dark ( purple- blue ) undereye circles with mineral makeup. Maybe not hide it completely, but at least make it a little less visible.

    (you might need to use another model for this demontration because you obviously dont have this problem yourself!!)

    Thank you
    Diane

    Reply
    • 4. Anna  |  February 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Hi Diane,

      One tip is to use a pale yellow eyeshadow (like Nish) under your eye. The yellow will counteract the blue in the dark circles, but still looks sheer. I will try to demonstrate this in a future post. Thanks so much for your feedback and question! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,878 other followers

Recent Posts

Tweets

  • @Seriiiously Oh, I see! I saw the website and thought anyone could join (it was for my daughter actually, who LOVES you!). Thanks anyway :) 1 year ago
  • @Seriiiously Is it still possible to play on your server Zoodesia? Thought I should ask before I download a gazillion mods :) 1 year ago
  • @kchanelle Oh yes, thanks for the reminder!! We moved our web shop so we need to update the links :) 1 year ago
  • @kchanelle That's so strange! Our apologies, and yes please call or email your order and we will help you :) 579-7627 shop@tvalskincare.com 2 years ago
  • @Yogaloveyyz oh nooo! Well, a wash with reg shampoo will take care of that! :) Feel better soon! xo 3 years ago

